Announcement!Fresh Tracks

Music Adds June 14, 2019

By June 14, 2019 No Comments
Kansas City-based Making Movies, with the help of an all-star ensemble (Ruben Blades, Fior De Toloache, David Hidalgo of Los Lobos, Asdru Sierrra of Ozomatli, Frankie Negron, and Las Cafeteras), on their new album ameri’kana dream up an “oldies” station of the future where the injustices they are singing about, primarily those against immigrant communities, are long gone…all to to a rich and infectious groove of Latin-flavored rock ‘n’ roll. Check out their video for “No Te Calles” (Don’t Be Silenced) below, along with videos from Naytronix and Lonesome Shack.
 June 14, 2019


**Best all-star storytelling of immigrant injustice : Making Movies: ameri’kana
**Best funkadelic side project worthy of the mainstage : Naytronix: Air
**Best amalgam of Joni Mitchell, Nick Drake, and Leonard Cohen: Bedouine: Bird Songs of Killjoys
**Best fuzz guitar and liberated vocals worthy of a deep listen : Stef Chura: Midnight
**Best Master interpretor and preservationist of the ‘traditionals’ : Jake Xerxes Fussell: Out of Sight


Al Foster/Inspirations & Dedications/Smoke Sessions/Jazz/
Alex Little and the Suspicious Minds/No Control/Light Organ/Indie Rock/
Bad Books/III/Loma Vista/Concord/Indie Folk/
Bedouine/Bird Songs of Killjoy/Capitol/Folk/**also digital**
Brad Mehldau/Finding Gabriel/Nonesuch/Jazz/**digital**
Clinic/Wheeltappers and Shunters/Domino/Art Punk/**digital**
Froth/Duress/Wichita Recordings/Indie Synth/Alt Rock/
Fruit Bats/Gold Past Life/Merge Records/Indie Rock/
Haelos/Any Random Kindness/Infectious/BMG/ElectroPop/
Jack Whitescarver/CD/s/r/Synth Pop/
Jake Xerxes Fussell/Out of Sight/Paradise of Bachelors/Folk/
Johnathan Rice/The Long Game/Mano Walker/Indie Folk Rock/**digital**
Les Poules a Colin/Morose/FamGroup/Folk/**digital**
Lord Dying/Mysterium Tremendum/Entertainment One/Metal/
Lovely Sand Dunes/Unusual Times/Dovetail Entertainment/Alt Rock/
Making Movies/ameri'kana/3/2 Recordings/Latin Rock/**also digital**
Motanka/Motanka/Napalm Records/Metal/
Moutin Factory Quintet/Mythical River/Laborie Jazz/Jazz/**digital**
Naytronix/Air/Bot Cave/ElectroPsychPop/**digital**
Palehound/Black Friday/Polyvinyl/Indie Rock/
Phil Ranelin/Phil Ranelin Collected 2003-2019/Wide Hive/Jazz/**digital**
Psychedelic Porn Crumpets/And Now For The Whatchamacallit/Marathon Artists/Psych Rock/
Pureum Jin/The Real Blue/Cellar Music/Jazz/
Rhiannon Giddens/There Is No Other/Nonesuch/Folk/**digital**
Soul Message Band/Soulful Days/Delmark/Jazz/
Stef Chura/Midnight/Saddle Creek/Indie Rock/**also digital**
Supergombo/Explorations/Z Production/Afro-Funk/**digital**
Texas Hippie Coalition/High In The Saddle/Entertainment One/Metal/
The Mattson 2/Paradise/Company/Psych Dream Jazz Pop/
Warren Weitner/This > That/s/r/Indie Folk Pop/
Yeasayer/Erotic Reruns/Yeasayer Records/Indie Pop/
Yohuna/Mirroring/Orchid Tapes/Synth Pop/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This